Moroccan-Style Lamb Stew

This is the dish I made today coming from a little cookbook I have about stews. I used the recipe in their as a base and then added things to my taste…Moroccan-Style Lamb Stew
I hope you like it!

Ingredients for 1 person:

  • roughly 200 gr of lamb cut into bite-size chunks
  • 1/2 onion, finely diced
  • 1/2 clove of garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of grounded coriander seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon of grounded cumin seeds
  • 1cm piece of ginger, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tablespoon of flour
  • 1 sweet potato, cut into pieces of roughly the same size as the lamb
  • Stock, just enough to cover the meat. I used beef stock
  • Vegetables you want to add extra (I added 1 normal carrot, 2 sticks of celery, some asparagus and some cherry tomatoes. I used these vegetables just because I had them lying around in my fridge. Any veg you like will do just fine, but you don’t have to add them)
  • Optional: Small handful of dried apricots or dates, chopped

Preparation (takes about 1h20min with 30 min of actual preparation and cooking):

  • Heat up some oil in a casserole type pan and add the meat with the flour. Brown the meat on all sides
  • Add the onion and garlic and cook gently for about 5-10 minutes
  • Add some salt, pepper, all the spices and vegetables if you choose to use them. (I added my carrots and celery now) Cook gently for another 5 minutes
  • Add the stock until the meat is covered. Bring to the boil, put the lid on and let it simmer for about 40 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Add the sweet potatoes and let is simmer for another 15 minutes, or until the sweet potatoes are almost cooked.
  • Add other vegetables which don’t need much cooking (if you are using them). I added my asparagus. Let simmer for another couple of minutes until all vegetables are properly cooked.
  • Add the optional dried fruit

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

